My BFF, Amok

I feel the need to give props to my friends.  The girls and guys that have a part in keeping my world turning.  Along with my husband, who is my #1 and will get his own post at a later date and will share this life with me until we no longer exist, my friends are a continuation of my family.  They deserve an explanation as to why I love them so much.  I shall begin with………..

When I started high school in North Carolina, I was 15.  I had come down to visit my dad for the summer from my mom’s house in Pennsylvania.  And then I just never left.  At the time, it was not my decision and would not have been my choice, but all things happen for a reason.  Thank Jesus.

If I had not “moved” to NC, I never would have met my BFF.  And as we all know, everyone needs a BFF.*

*BFF, as defined by The Urban Dictionary:

1. B.F.F.  
 
Like, best friends for EVER

Alison Nicole is one of those people you can’t help but stop and listen to…….even if you’re not the one she’s talking to.  In fact, you could be on the other side of the room – a big, giant room – and you could still hear her.  She’s full of fun-facts, useless information and an approach towards life that has yet to be matched by anyone else I know.  The word “vivacious” comes to mind, but I don’t think it even comes close to encompassing the vast array of personality traits that make up what is Ali.  That’s part of the reason why I am her BFF.  Because I understand most of those components and appreciate them for what they are.

Ali is a redhead.  She wasn’t born that way, but she should’ve been.  She can be saucy.  Saucy and witty.  Which is why she is the BFF of The Wit Factory.  In fact, you can sample a bit of her wit at http://runamokamok.wordpress.com/.  (Shameless plug?  No, never!)

Ali is a Libra.

Libra is the only inanimate sign of the zodiac (Ali is far from inanimate.  She’s QUITE animated, especially about shoes.), all the others representing either humans or animals. Many modern astrologers regard it as the most desirable of zodiacal types because it represents the zenith of the year, the high point of the seasons, when the harvest of all the hard work of the spring is reaped. There is a mellowness (HA!  Hahahaha!  HA!) and sense of relaxation in the air as mankind enjoys the last of the summer sun and the fruits of his toil. Librans too are among the most civilized (she has a great faux Brittish accent) of the twelve zodiacal characters and are often good looking (Duh). They have elegance, charm and good taste (have you seen her shoe collection?), are naturally kind, very gentle (she’s of medical expertise, so kind and gentle apply until you piss her off.  Then you’re doomed to “accidental” exposure to a few too many needles), and lovers of beauty, harmony (both in music and social living) and the pleasures that these bring (Yep.).

Ali has seen the good, the bad and the ugly of Liz.  She is an adopted Gunter and I an adopted Christopher.  She’s been present at my family reunions, witness to sibling abuse (my brother endured much torture from my sister and I – he’s had more than his fair share of swirlies), not-so-great boyfriends, really great boyfriends, disciplinary action from the parents (when Mom yelled at me, she yelled at Ali too.  Her mom didn’t hold back either), bad dye jobs, too much eyebrow plucking and was a repeat offender of getting me home just late enough to be grounded for it.  She successfully pulled off my one and only surprise birthday party and never missed a good movie night with mounds of candy and too many boxes of popsicles.  She once drug me out of the house on a Friday night as I was mourning the break-up of one of the bad ones and took me to buy feather boas at Wal-Mart, which we wore for the entire evening despite the awkward glances in our direction.  We never did drugs, rarely drank alcohol and got our highs from joy riding to Raleigh, flirting with the cars full of boys that would pass by on the interstate.  Ali could chat up just about anybody and we’d have new friends by the end of the evening – the waitress, the bowling alley attendant……..that car full of boys……

Ali is traveled.  This is the part of her that I’m envious of.  Stemming from a military family, she has lived in multiple places including Aviano, Italy.  She is retired from the USAF and, unfortunately, only got to travel to Dayton, Ohio during her career.  She’ll be the first to tell you that Ohio is no Italy.  But, whatever.  Ali is also very intelligent.  She scored higher than I on our SATs, which never bothered me as I expected it from her, and had completed college courses to become a CNA by the time we graduated high school. 

My BFF always said that she would marry first and I would have babies first.  Right she was.  Ali eloped, which is so Ali, in ’04 while I didn’t tie the knot until ’06.  I had my first baby in ’07, my second three months ago, and Ali struggles with infertility.  I won’t say this is a sore subject for her as she is very open about it and regularly blogs/talks about it, but it is the one most meaningful desire in her life.  However, when life hands you lemons, throw them away and find something sweeter.  Which she did.  Her sweetness comes in two forms – one is a blonde haired, blue-eyed “Secret Squirrel” that swept her off her feet in, I believe, a snowstorm shortly after her basic training.  He seems to match her intelligence and is the teeter to her totter.  Her other form of sweetness is a shiny gray, slightly overweight, and very endearing Weimaraner named Amelia.  From what I hear, Amelia has yet to realize that she’s not a child.  So Amelia will remain the first-born for my BFF and her Squirrel until life takes them in a different direction.

Post USAF, Ali is a photographer.  She lives in the DC Metro area and will travel!  www.alisonfill.com  (Shameless plug again?……maybe.)  There’s some pretty hot shots of her gorgeous little nieces on her site.  Or at least there will be once the construction of the site is completed.  Check back often.

Back on track now:  There’s so much more to Ali than I could sit here and write.  I don’t know exactly how my life in NC would’ve turned out if it hadn’t been for Alison Nicole.  We’re in different states these days but when we’re together it’s as if we’ve never been apart.  We’ve added to each other and I hope I’ve impacted her life as much as she has mine.  That is why she’s my BFF.  I love her incredibly and will forever be only a phone call away.  After all, we’ve been best friends since, like, sperm.

3 responses to “My BFF, Amok

  1. OMG! I love it! I love it! I love it!

    How just absolutely fabulous I sound. Making me feel so awesome and special…
    love it!

    There are just no words.

  2. Did you cry? ‘Cause I was going for tears…..:0)

  3. Pingback: Moi? « Run Amok Amok

Leave a Reply

